The Pros & Cons of Thrift Shopping

Thrift Shopping has its positives and negatives but it is a “One of a Kind” experience and it’s a place that I have now labeled as a “Diamond in the Rough”. Because it is a thrift store, people will overlook the quality of ‘second hand’ articles and ‘used’ clothing. But one of the truths behind “Thrift” shopping is the preservation of money (and Style). The word “Thrift” means the quality of using money and other resources carefully and not wastefully. It’s defined as careful management of money. But, now to me, it is also defined as careful management of money, FASHION & STYLE. One thrift store in Brooklyn’s East New York sells everything from costume jewelry and mini hand bags to brands such as Forever 21, Banana Republic and pieces from the Lauren Conrad Collection for the price of a single white T-shirt, which is probably more than one these items. A single shopping trip can include a couple of pairs of pants, two or three blazers, one or two sweaters, a jacket and a couple of dresses totaling up to about $25-$30, and that’s the maximum amount of spending.

Screenshot_2014-09-13-15-56-12-1

But thrift shopping does have its negatives. Minority of shoppers don’t like the idea of ‘Second Hand’ or ‘Used’ clothes. But not all items in thrift stores are second-hand and used. Some expensive shoppers probably believe that thrift shopping includes filthy stained shirts, ripped up jeans (not the fashionable trending kind) and buttonless collard shirts that aren’t Gucci or Vera Wang from Bloomingdale’s and Saks Fifth Ave. But part of being a “Fashionista” isn’t all about wearing labels and designer clothes, it’s about making your personal style shine through the least expensive or even second-hand and used clothes. That’s when you know you’re a true fashionista.

Thrift shopping can be very addictive because while looking through clothes that may not be so appealing, you can find some of the most different styles of fashion and that makes you want to search for more. I’ve shopped at the thrift store only three times since I discovered one early last month and my total spending was $60. For a Fashionista like me, that’s extreme bargaining and I can’t wait until my next visit. Here are only a few items that I’ve purchased from my local thrift store in Brooklyn.

photo 1 (1) photo 1 (2) photo 1 photo 2 (2) photo 2 photo 3 (2) photo 3 photo 4 (2) photo 4 photo 5 (1) photo 5

Other Items that I have purchased are in the dry cleaners (I will post soon). I’ve decided that even though I love shopping at a thrift store, all clothes that I buy would go to dry cleaners before I decide to wear them. And that can sometimes be the negative of Thrift shopping. You don’t know if these items are second hard or if they are used or brand new. Here is my list of the Pros and Cons of Thrift Shopping……

Pros (Positives)

Designer Labels

You can find a variety of designers labels in thrift stores if you take the time to shop at one.

Good Quality clothing

Not all clothes at the thrift store are damaged; some are of high quality and made of good fabric.

Never Before Seen Fashion

One of the reasons why I love shopping at thrift stores is because I know that not a lot of people will dare to shop there. I love looking and being different.

Extreme Bargain/Affordability

You are guaranteed to save money thrift shopping, that’s what Thrift means.

Stylish and Fashionable

Though you have to look through the clutter of other clothes, you would find some amazing things.

Cons (Negatives)

Second Hand/Used

Some clothes may be used or second-hand but that should not stop you from saving money while finding the most fashionable clothing through the clutter.

Not an official clothing store

No, it’s not a well-known boutique in Soho where everyone loves to shop but at least you won’t look like everybody else or have the same outfit as your fellow party goers.

Some clothes are a little damaged

Yes, Some items that I purchased were missing a button or two, some were ripped and teared but I used my DIY skills to bring it back to life.

Personally, I take the clothes to the cleaners which may cost more money but its worth it. The $60 that I spent at the thrift store including the $40 that it cost to dry cleaned them can’t amount to the cost of shopping in Bloomingdale’s and Saks Fifth Ave (I still love those stores). Thrift shopping saves me so much money and leaves me looking Fashionably different.

 

Take that stroll down Bargain Blvd in Mariland of Style and visit a local thrift store near you. You won’t regret it. If you do, you don’t have that keen eye for fashion that I thought you had.

Befriend the Trend

 

 

Leave a Reply

